Menu
search button
Strasbourg

A virtual visit to the Council of Europe

Monday 17 May 2021

Since 2016, it is an annual tradition for Middlesex University London and Dubai Law and Politics students to travel to Strasbourg every May to visit the Institutions of the Council of Europe, the European Court of Human Rights and the Parliament of the European Union. The trip gives the opportunity to students of both Campuses to meet and interact, while visiting the European Institutions that are central to their learning material - and this year, we are delighted to also be able to invite students from our Mauritius campus.  Private meetings with the Judges of the European Court of Human Rights are always the highlight of the trip! 

As we have been unable to visit the Council of Europe in Strasbourg in person this year, we have arranged a virtual visit instead!

If you wish to attend our virtual visit to Strasbourg, please register here.

Virtual Visit Agenda

Session one 

10:00 - 10:30 (UK time)

13:00 - 13:30 (UAE and Mauritius time)

Presentation and virtual tour of the Palais de l’Europe, the main building of the Council of Europe, which also houses the Parliamentary Assembly.

10:30 - 11:30 (UK time)

13:30 - 14:30 (UAE and Mauritius time)

we will be joined by Christian Mommers, Advisor to the Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights, for a talk and a Q&A. Christian specialises in asylum and migration issues and also advises the Commissioner on human rights in the UK, among other states.  

Session two

13:00 - 14:00 (UK time)

16:00 - 17:00 (UAE and Mauritius time)

Talk and Q&A with Judge Siofra O’Leary, the Judge at the European Court of Human Rights elected in respect of Ireland.

REGISTER YOUR PLACE
Strasbourg
Strasbourg

 

Middlesex Associates FZ LLC, Dubai Knowledge Park - Blocks 4, 16, 17 & 19
Admissions +971 (0)4 3678100

© Copyright Middlesex University Dubai 2021